WELCOME CID PARENTS

NOTIFICATIONS AND REMINDERS

Please continue to check this page, your e-mail, text messages and the CID Families Facebook Group.

We’re seeking parents and others willing to write an online review of CID. We need only 7 more reviews to earn a Top-Rated Nonprofit badge. If you have a few minutes and can say a few words, please visit greatnonprofits.org.

Loading Events

Upcoming Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

November 2020

CID Thanksgiving Break-CID Closed

November 25 @ 8:30 am - November 27 @ 5:00 pm

January 2021

CID School Resumes

January 5, 2021 @ 8:30 am - 3:00 pm

ML King Day-CID Closed

January 18, 2021 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

February 2021

President’s Day–CID Closed

February 15, 2021 @ 7:30 am - 6:00 pm

March 2021

CID Spring Break-No School

March 22, 2021 @ 8:30 am - March 26, 2021 @ 5:00 pm

CID School Resumes

March 29, 2021 @ 8:30 am - 3:00 pm

April 2021

Early Dismissal – 1:30pm

April 10, 2021 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

No Aftercare Provided

Find out more »
+ Export Events

SCHOOL DIRECTORY

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Robin M. Feder rfeder@cid.edu 314.977.0223

PRINCIPAL
Lynda Berkowitz lberkowitz@cid.edu  314.977.0120

ASSESSMENT AND ADMISSIONS
Andrea Osman aosman@cid.edu  314.977.0135

FINANCE
Amy Tighe – Business Manager  atighe@cid.edu 314.977.0234
Saadia Walton – Accounting Supervisor swalton@cid.edu 314.977.0264
Jodi Larson – Accountant jlarson@cid.edu 314.977.0227
Donita Gibbs – Accounts Payable dgibbs@cid.edu 314.977.0130

JOANNE PARRISH KNIGHT FAMILY CENTER
Kathy Gallagher – Program Director kgallagher@cid.edu  314.977.0172
Emily Humphrey ehumphrey@cid.edu 314.977.0248
Amy Knackstedt aknackstedt@cid.edu 314.977.0134
Maureen Mallon mmallon@cid.edu 314.977.0194
Judy Odendahl jodendahl@cid.edu 314.977.0156
Megan Samson msamson@cid.edu 314.977.0195
Claire Soete csoete@cid.edu  314.977.0175
Lisa Sutkus lsutkus@cid.edu 314.977.0224.

ANABETH AND JOHN WEIL EARLY CHILDHOOD CENTER
Lynda Berkowitz – Program Coordinator lberkowitz@cid.edu  314.977.0120
Brigid Barringhaus bbarringhaus@cid.edu 314.977.0147
Greta Bohnenkamp gbohnenkamp@cid.edu 314.977.0268
Meghan Cohen mcohen@cid.edu 314.977.0193
Meghan Glickert mglickert@cid.edu 314.977.0269
Daun Grempler dgrempler@cid.edu  314.977.0145
Patti Hoffman phoffman@cid.edu  314.977.0151
Ashley Byrd abyrd@cid.edu 314.977.0207
Audrey Nemeth anemeth@cid.edu 314.977.0206
Hilary Phillips hphillips@cid.edu 314.977.0121
Brittney Swope bswope@cid.edu 314.977.0209
Amy Varble avarble@cid.edu 314.977.0207
Kelly Wood kwood@cid.edu 314.977.0141

VIRGINIA J. BROWNING PRIMARY SCHOOL
Amy Hudson – Program Coordinator  ahudson@cid.edu 314.977.0155
Julie Deno jdeno@cid.edu 314.977.0263
Amanda Dunaway adunaway@cid.edu 314.977.0148
Katy Hamacher khamacher@cid.edu 314.977.0208
Jeanette Humphreys jhumphreys@cid.edu 314.977.0146
Ellen Mohler emohler@cid.edu 314.977.0143
Sarah Oberman soberman@cid.edu 314.977.0150
Cary Rebstock crebstock@cid.edu 314.977.0265
Meghan Schuler mschuler@cid.edu 314.977.0139

MARTHA E. JONES PEDIATRIC AUDIOLOGY CENTER
Lisa Davidson – Director of Outcomes davidsonl@ent.wustl.edu 314.747.7155
Kathy Holtman – Supervising Audiologist kholtman@cid.edu 314.977.0137
Johanna Lowell jlowell@cid.edu 314.977.0131
Susie Whaley (appointments) swhaley@cid.edu 314.977.0104
Brittany Wuebbles bwuebbles@cid.edu 314.977.0127
Tyler Drake – 4th Year Audiology Extern tdrake@cid.edu

SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY
Jessica Brock jbrock@cid.edu 314.977.0190
Terri O’Donoghue todonoghue@cid.edu 314.977.0162
Jackie Unser junser@cid.edu 314.977.0192

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY
Sara Oberle soberle@cid.edu 314.977.0144

Click here to contact CID administrators, finance, development, communications and professional development staff.

HEARING FROM THE HEART

The CID Hearing from the Heart program serves families in the CID school

In-person Hearing from the Heart events are postponed until further notice. Please contact Patti Hoffman for more information.

When resumed, these events will include free aftercare for CID students, free dinner for families and free childcare/activities for the evening.

NOTE: At this time, in-person Hearing from the Heart events are postponed due to the pandemic, but virtual events are planned. Please check the calendar for more information.

Hearing from the Heart is CID’s family connection group facilitated by a CID parent educator and a CID family resource specialist. Families meet periodically with other families to discuss various topics relevant to parenting a child with hearing loss. The topic of discussion depends on what the group wants to talk about.

After-school care is provided free of charge for all CID early childhood center and primary school students. Each meeting begins at 5pm with dinner. At 5:30, the children and their siblings enjoy fun activities with a CID school counselor and Washington University graduate students while the adults go to another room to discuss our topic. Meetings end at 7pm, allowing you plenty of time to get home and finish your evening.

SOME PAST TOPICS

  • What is the latest hearing technology?
  • Ask a parent who has been there
  • IFSP/IEPs and advocacy
  • Promoting executive function
  • Friendships and social skills
  • Mindfulness

WHAT PARENTS ARE SAYING

“It’s great to meet other parents.”

“I thought I was the only one who felt this way! This is wonderful!”

“I feel like I know my child’s needs better now.”

“Having dinner provided is like a night off for me! And, it’s free! Thank you!”

“My child loves the time to play with CID friends.”

“It’s cool for my child’s sibling to see other children with devices.”

COMMUNITY RESOURCES

General Resources in the Metro Area

Start Here St. Louis provides a comprehensive resource directory of agencies in the St. Louis area that provide services for everything from housing to food and clothing to mental health and beyond.

United Way helps people by providing funding to over 160+ agencies who provide services to people in the Metro St. Louis area.

Looking for things to do in St. Lou? This website offers many, many activities around town for families.

Utility Resources Here is a link to St. Louis area assistance for utilities.

Resources Specific to Deaf/Hard of Hearing

AGBell supports families of children who are deaf/hard of hearing and helps advocate for appropriately trained professionals to work in the field of listening and spoken language. Check out their “families” page.

Hands and Voices is a national organization supporting families of children who are deaf/hard of hearing by advocating for choices in communication. Currently, there is no Missouri Chapter. Illinois provides Guide By Your Side.

Hearing Aid and Cochlear Implant Decorations Personalize your child’s devices.