WELCOME CID FAMILIES

NOTIFICATIONS AND REMINDERS

Welcome to School!  We are happy to have everyone in person for the 2021-2022 school year!

Please continue to check this page, your e-mail, text messages and the CID Families Facebook Group.

Loading Events

Upcoming Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

December 2021

CID Holiday Program–Cancelled due to current Covid protocols

December 22 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Join us at 1:30 for cookies and an opportunity to visit with other families.  The holiday will be from 2-3 p.m. No aftercare is provided today.

Find out more »

Winter Break

December 23, 2021 @ 1:30 pm - January 3, 2022 @ 11:30 pm

Enjoy winter break.   School resumes January 4.

Find out more »

January 2022

School resumes

January 4, 2022 @ 7:30 am - 5:30 pm

Welcome back!

Find out more »

Dr. Martin Luther King Day

January 17, 2022 @ 8:00 am - 3:00 pm

CID will be closed to honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Find out more »

February 2022

Virtual Learning/Early Release

February 18, 2022 @ 8:00 am - 1:30 pm

We will have a virtual learning day for all students.  No in-person learning.   Please stay tuned for further details. The school day will end at 1:30.

Find out more »

May 2022

+ Export Events

SCHOOL DIRECTORY

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Heather Grantham hgrantham@cid.edu 314.977.0223

PRINCIPAL
Lynda Berkowitz lberkowitz@cid.edu  314.977.0120

ADMISSIONS/EVALUATION
Andrea Osman — Director of Admissions and Program Evaluation aosman@cid.edu  314.977.0195
Meg Samson — Associate Director of Admissions and Evaluation msamson@cid.edu  314.977.0195

FINANCE
Amy Tighe – Business Manager  atighe@cid.edu 314.977.0234
Saadia Walton – Accounting Supervisor swalton@cid.edu 314.977.0264
Jodi Larson – Accountant jlarson@cid.edu 314.977.0227
Donita Gibbs – Accounts Payable dgibbs@cid.edu 314.977.0130

JOANNE PARRISH KNIGHT FAMILY CENTER
Amy Knackstedt, Coordinator aknackstedt@cid.edu 314.977.0134
Emily Humphrey ehumphrey@cid.edu 314.977.0248
Maureen Mallon mmallon@cid.edu 314.977.0194
Judy Odendahl jodendahl@cid.edu 314.977.0156
Claire Soete csoete@cid.edu  314.977.0175
Lisa Sutkus lsutkus@cid.edu 314.977.0224

ANABETH AND JOHN WEIL EARLY CHILDHOOD CENTER
Lynda Berkowitz – Program Coordinator lberkowitz@cid.edu  314.977.0120
Brigid Barringhaus bbarringhaus@cid.edu 314.977.0147
Greta Bohnenkamp gbohnenkamp@cid.edu 314.977.0268
Ashley Byrd abyrd@cid.edu 314.977.0207
Meghan Cohen mcohen@cid.edu 314.977.0193
Meghan Glickert mglickert@cid.edu 314.977.0269
Daun Grempler dgrempler@cid.edu  314.977.0145
Patti Hoffman phoffman@cid.edu  314.977.0151
Audrey Nemeth anemeth@cid.edu 314.977.0206
Katie O’Donoghue kodonoghue@cid.edu
Hilary Phillips hphillips@cid.edu 314.977.0121
Brittney Swope bswope@cid.edu 314.977.0209
Amy Varble avarble@cid.edu 314.977.0207
Kelly Wood kwood@cid.edu 314.977.0141

VIRGINIA J. BROWNING PRIMARY SCHOOL
Amy Hudson – Program Coordinator  ahudson@cid.edu 314.977.0155
Julie Deno jdeno@cid.edu 314.977.0263
Amanda Dunaway adunaway@cid.edu 314.977.0148
Katy Hamacher khamacher@cid.edu 314.977.0208
Ellen Mohler emohler@cid.edu 314.977.0143
Sarah Oberman soberman@cid.edu 314.977.0150
Cary Rebstock crebstock@cid.edu 314.977.0265
Meghan Schuler mschuler@cid.edu 314.977.0139

MARTHA E. JONES PEDIATRIC AUDIOLOGY CENTER
Lisa Davidson – Director of Outcomes davidsonl@ent.wustl.edu 314.747.7155
Kathy Holtman – Supervising Audiologist kholtman@cid.edu 314.977.0137
Johanna Lowell jlowell@cid.edu 314.977.0131
Susie Whaley (appointments) swhaley@cid.edu 314.977.0104
Brittany Wuebbles bwuebbles@cid.edu 314.977.0127

SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY

Cassidy Baker cbaker@cid.edu
Jessica Brock jbrock@cid.edu 314.977.0190
Jackie Unser junser@cid.edu 314.977.0192

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY
Sara Oberle soberle@cid.edu 314.977.0144

Click here to contact CID administrators, finance, development, communications and professional development staff.

HEARING FROM THE HEART

The CID Hearing from the Heart program serves families in the CID school

In-person Hearing from the Heart events are postponed until further notice. Please contact Patti Hoffman for more information.

When resumed, these events will include free aftercare for CID students, free dinner for families and free childcare/activities for the evening.

NOTE: At this time, in-person Hearing from the Heart events are postponed due to the pandemic, but virtual events are planned. Please check the calendar for more information.

Hearing from the Heart is CID’s family connection group facilitated by a CID parent educator and a CID family resource specialist. Families meet periodically with other families to discuss various topics relevant to parenting a child with hearing loss. The topic of discussion depends on what the group wants to talk about.

After-school care is provided free of charge for all CID early childhood center and primary school students. Each meeting begins at 5pm with dinner. At 5:30, the children and their siblings enjoy fun activities with a CID school counselor and Washington University graduate students while the adults go to another room to discuss our topic. Meetings end at 7pm, allowing you plenty of time to get home and finish your evening.

SOME PAST TOPICS

  • What is the latest hearing technology?
  • Ask a parent who has been there
  • IFSP/IEPs and advocacy
  • Promoting executive function
  • Friendships and social skills
  • Mindfulness

WHAT PARENTS ARE SAYING

“It’s great to meet other parents.”

“I thought I was the only one who felt this way! This is wonderful!”

“I feel like I know my child’s needs better now.”

“Having dinner provided is like a night off for me! And, it’s free! Thank you!”

“My child loves the time to play with CID friends.”

“It’s cool for my child’s sibling to see other children with devices.”

COMMUNITY RESOURCES

General Resources in the Metro Area

Start Here St. Louis provides a comprehensive resource directory of agencies in the St. Louis area that provide services for everything from housing to food and clothing to mental health and beyond.

United Way helps people by providing funding to over 160+ agencies who provide services to people in the Metro St. Louis area.

Looking for things to do in St. Lou? This website offers many, many activities around town for families.

Utility Resources Here is a link to St. Louis area assistance for utilities.

Resources Specific to Deaf/Hard of Hearing

AGBell supports families of children who are deaf/hard of hearing and helps advocate for appropriately trained professionals to work in the field of listening and spoken language. Check out their “families” page.

Hands and Voices is a national organization supporting families of children who are deaf/hard of hearing by advocating for choices in communication. Currently, there is no Missouri Chapter. Illinois provides Guide By Your Side.

Hearing Aid and Cochlear Implant Decorations Personalize your child’s devices.